.

Hey everyone!

Here is my updated ‘about me’, I hope you guys find me as interesting as I do.

My name is Kathryn and I’m a 22 year old (I want to say girl but should I say woman? Ew) from Sydney, Australia. I’m a self proclaimed extrovert but when it comes to talking about myself I really don’t know how to go about it, so lets see how this goes.

I’m the youngest of 5 along with my twin sister (not identical), I have 4 dogs who are all my babies. I work two jobs currently, one is as an Administrative & Marketing Assistant and the other is as a waitress. I’m a recent graduate who is now just trying to work and earn money so that I can comfortably transition into a lower paying graduate job. My goal is to become a marketing professional and work for a big brand company, I won’t say my first choice only because I still believe the whole ‘if you say it out loud it wont come true’ myth that was drilled in at birthdays from a young age.

My favourite books are probably the Harry Potter series, they’re just timeless and I feel that they appeal to all ages. I’ve read all the books three times so far since I was maybe in year 6 and every time I read them it’s mainly been because I haven’t been able to find a new book to read at that time.

I am however currently reading ‘I built no schools in Kenya’ by Kirsten Drysdale of which I highly recommend if you enjoy a wild ride.

I like to ski in winter and swim in summer (like a lot of people i’m sure) and I am a sucker for a nice cup of tea. I enjoy festivals more than concerts as it’s not as claustrophobic and festivals are a lot more economic.

My favourite festival that i’ve been to in regards to that would have to be Spilt Milk 2017 in Canberra. Lorde headlined and a bunch of my favourite bands played like the Jungle Giants, Winston Surfshirt and What so not. It was the best time with some of my favourite people.

I’m a big advocate for the environment, I do my best to reduce my carbon footprint. I use a keep cup every day, I use a wooden toothbrush, I always bring my own bags for grocery shopping, I very rarely use a plastic straw mainly because I haven’t been able to buy a metal one yet and I donate to environmental organisations.

Saving the planet is something I’ve become very passionate with and one day I hope to work for a not for profit in helping combat effects of climate change and plastic.

That pretty much sums me up, follow me to stay updated on my little adventures xxx

To learn more about climate change: https://www.climatechangeinaustralia.gov.au/en/

 

 

Update on Me and Uni

Hello everyone!

This blog began when I started university and I needed to blog as it was a part of the curriculum. Now, 3 years on and I graduated officially last Tuesday! I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications & Media Studies with a major in Marketing & Advertising (what a mouthful!).

I’m the youngest in the family (Not technically as I have a twin sister and she was born after me, but we both share the role of being the youngest), I am however the first amongst my cousins and siblings to graduate from University. As you can imagine, my parents were very proud of me. It’s been a very big week for me, my twin came down to watch me graduate and so did my big sister. My twin is definitely one of the biggest supports in my life and has always backed my decisions no matter how ridiculous or huge.

IMG_0276

My boyfriend Mitch of course has been an absolute angel the whole time we’ve been together and I’ve been at uni. We met midway through my second year (also his second year) and we of course have both tried to help each other through the back end of our degrees.

He was able to help me more only because he did a Bachelor of Business with majors in International Business and Accounting and while I could help with his International Business subjects, I wasn’t much help in his accounting ones because I really just suck at maths. My way of helping was mainly just making him tea while he did assignments and doing his referencing, whereas he proofread the majority of my essays and research projects.

Anyway! I thought I would talk about where I am at now, as more of an update from my first ever post introducing myself.

When I started Uni at the University of Wollongong I had my heart broken maybe a month before. My first boyfriend had dumped me and I was at a complete loss of what to do with myself. I remember trying to focus on work and picking up any and every shift I could just to keep my mind off him. Looking back now, while we have no bad blood and I am in no means trying to paint a bad picture, he didn’t treat me well. We were very young and looking back now I genuinely think he only wanted to date me so that he get past and have that first relationship. I was willing to move mountains for him when he really wouldn’t move his car for me if I asked.

I started at Wollongong Uni looking for a clean slate, no one knew how much I was hurting and I was able to paint myself the way I wanted people to see me. I fell for UOW pretty quick, even when I hated my time studying at uni, I loved every second.

In my mid year break in my second year I went on a europe trip with my best friend. I love travelling and loved that trip as I met so many fantastic people, a lot of who I still talk to (not the previously mentioned best friend though). I came home and a week later I went to my (ex) best friend’s boyfriend’s 21st, where I met my now boyfriend.

I would like to say that it is an absolute breath of fresh air being with someone who would do anything to keep a smile on your face. I felt more wanted in the space of 2 months than I did in the year I was with my ex.

I think what I’ve learned in my time at uni is to never doubt my worth, both in work and relationships. I wish I had learned this ages ago as I wouldn’t have been with my ex for so long. At least it didn’t take me very long to get over!

Focus on self improvement and self betterment than trying to boost someone else’s confidence.